Can You Buy Alcohol In Virginia
State-run liquor stores are the only places to purchase liquor. There is state control over spirits in Virginia. Supermarkets can sell beer and wine, but state-run stores can sell liquor beginning at 8 a.m. to 11 P. In some stores, the hours are noon to 5 p. Sundays are federal holidays, which mean State stores will be closed.
Can You Get Beer Delivered In Virginia
Beer delivery is available in Virginia.
You can get beer delivered from restaurants and breweries Monday through Friday in Virginia. Retail locations offer same-day delivery if youre in a 5-mile radius. Orders placed from these locations may take 2-3 days for delivery if theyre palace on Friday.
For a full list of delivery options from retailers in Virginia, click here.
This Is Where You Can Buy Beer In West Virginia
Ever since prohibition ended in 1933 in the US, each state has the freedom to make their own liquor laws. This allows states to control the shipment, sale, and consumption of alcohol, and it can be confusing if youre visiting from another state. If youre visiting from out of state, then youre probably wondering where you can buy beer in West Virginia.
West Virginia has some of the least restrictive liquor laws in the US. You can buy beer at grocery stores, gas stations, and liquor stores. You can also purchase wine and liquor at those locations as well.
If youve been to West Virginia 10 years ago, then you may be surprised to learn that you can buy beer and liquor in grocery stores now. Their laws surrounding alcohol have been updated in recent years, so read on to learn everything you need to know about where you can buy beer in West Virginia.
Read Also: Good Things To Mix With Tequila
New State Law Means Earlier Sunday Liquor Sales
CHARLESTON, W.Va. Starting this Sunday, youll be able to buy alcohol earlier than usual, according to the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration.
The new law, which originated with Senate Bill 2020, technically went into effect Wednesday. It means, though, that you can purchase liquor starting at 6 a.m. on Sundays, beginning this Sunday, in West Virginia.
Restaurants can also include alcohol with delivery orders, provided that food is purchased.
Christmas and Easter Sunday are still an exception to this law.
Copyright 2021 WSAZ. All rights reserved.
What Time Can You Buy Alcohol In West Virginia
West Virginia really gives you plenty of time to purchase your alcohol any day of the week. You can buy beer, wine, or liquor 7 days a week, though the hours are slightly different. For beer and wine, you have between 6am-2am to make your purchase. Liquor can only be sold between the hours of 6am and midnight.
Of course, thats just for off-premises sales. If youre consuming your drink at a restaurant or bar, then you can buy alcohol between 6am-2am 7 days a week. Private clubs are allowed to serve you even later, and their hours run between 6am-3am.
There are very few restrictions on the sale of alcohol in West Virginia, including holidays. The only thing you cant buy during holidays in WV is liquor, and thats just for off-site consumption. You could still purchase liquor on holidays at a restaurant, bar, or club.
Read Also: Ballantine’s Finest Blended Scotch Whisky
What Time Can I Buy Beer In Virginia On Sunday
Laws Concerning Liquor in Virginia Holiday Update Alcoholic beverages are not available in ABC stores on Christmas Day. Grocery stores do sell beer. Grocery businesses that sell wine. The sale of alcoholic beverages in government-owned businesses grocery store with alcoholic beverages The sale is open from 6:00 a.m. until 12:00 a.m. on Sundays and Saturdays.
|State-Run Liquor Store Hours:
|Monday to Saturday: 10:00am to 9:00pm
|Sunday: 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Introduction To Va Alcohol Laws
Lets get started with some of the basics:
- What is the minimum age to buy or even possess an alcoholic beverage? 21
PENALTY FOR POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL UNDER 21: $500-$2,550 in fines, up to 50 hours of community service, and/or up to 1 year in jail.
LEARN MORE: To read more on underage drinking laws, please see Cook Attorneys blog post on the subject.
- What are the rules for selling alcohol?
- If you are selling alcohol in a restaurant, that is okay. Bars are illegal there are minimum food sales requirements that distinguish restaurants from establishments that serve only alcohol.
- You may sell only wine and beer at a restaurant or store.
- If you want to sell alcoholic beverages, you must work in a store owned by the Commonwealth government.
- You may not serve alcoholic beverages in novel or unusual containers, though the statute does not specify what that means.
- You may not sell alcohol to anyone under 21.
EXCEPTIONS: If you are a parent or spouse over 21, and you provide alcohol to your child or spouse under 21, you are not breaking the law.
PENALTY FOR SELLING OR PROVIDING ALCOHOL TO UNDERAGE INDIVIDUAL: up to $2,550 in fines and/or up to 1 year in jail.
Also Check: Coors Edge Non-alcoholic Beer
Hours For Alcohol Sales In Virginia
For on-premise locations, the COVID-19 pandemic has not had any lasting effects on operating hours, and most bars and restaurants have returned to pre-pandemic hours. Legally, on-premise locations are allowed to sell alcohol between the hours of 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. Monday through Sunday. Restaurants and clubs that sell both food and drinks are permitted to sell alcohol from 6 a.m. to midnight. This is also true for off-premise or retail locations.
On March 27, 2020, ABC stores changed their hours in order to help control the spread of the virus. Their doors were open from noon to 7 p.m. throughout the week. As of June 26, 2021, stores continue to open at noon and closing has been pushed back to 9 p.m. Some stores also limit their Sunday hours from 1 p.m. until 6 p.m. As conditions and public safety concerns continue to evolve, these hours may change again. If you arent sure about hours of operation, you can get information for your nearest store at the store finder page.
As a control state, Virginia closely regulates alcohol sales and maintains control over hard liquor sales. This allows them to better protect public safety while also collecting funds that go back towards supporting the state. However, Virginias government did find the flexibility to institute some new laws aimed at helping businesses survive the challenges of the pandemic.
Drinking Laws In Virginia
Virginias alcohol laws are easy to follow. There are only a handful of dry counties, but the laws throughout the state are straightforward.
Beer is generally legal in Virginia. Outside of the nine dry counties, beer can be sold in various locations during most times of the week.
A new Virginia House Bill will allow casinos with mixed beverage licenses to sell alcohol later than bars and restaurants.
Also Check: Beer Vending Machine For Sale
Get The Door It’s The Liquor Store
History buffs and hikers cant get enough of Old Dominion Virginia was the first colony in the United States after all, and its ideal position on the Atlantic Coast combined with a southern climate provides Virginians a pretty nice place to call home. Virginia can claim more miles of the…famous Appalachian Trail than any other state, running through Shenandoah National Park and skimming along the Blue Ridge Mountains. Virginia also hosts Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg, two of the states many attractions. For those not into period attire or rollercoasters though, never fear Virginia has its own celebrated wine culture. In fact, its one of the top wine-producing regions in the U.S., claiming more than 300 wineries. Virginia covers a big area, and each region has its own distinct culture and specialties. Drizly partners with over 200 ABCs throughout the state. Drizly delivers everything from fruity pinots to Miller Light. Read More
Can You Buy Alcohol In Grocery Stores In Virginia
Various types of wine and beer are sold today at 7-11, the grocery store, and even gas stations that obtain the ABC licenses necessary to sell them off-premises. A license is required to serve beer, wine, and since 1968, hard liquor to restaurants by the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority.
Recommended Reading: Malibu Rum 1.75 L
The Abc Of Legal Liquor In Virginia
ABC stores are commercial operations, standard self-service customer-based facilities often located in strip malls
After Prohibition ended, Virginia authorized retail stores to sell beer and wine , but retained direct control over the sale of hard liquor. The General Assembly set up what is today the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority and gave it the exclusive right to sell hard liquor directly to the public.
After Prohibition the state allowed the sale of wine and beer in numerous places. Today, various forms of wine and beer are sold at the 7-11, the grocery store, and even gas stations that obtain the required ABC license for off-premise sales. Those stores compete for customers by offering different prices, hours of operation, and levels of service.
Until restaurants were authorized in 1968 to sell liquor by the drink , the only legal hard liquor sales in Virginia were bottles handed by ABC clerks to customers standing on the other side of counters in state-owned stores.
The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority issues on-premises licenses restaurants to serve beer, wine, and since 1968 hard liquor. Restaurants have competitive business practices, but the state has limited their ability to sell alcohol at a discount.1
Billboard advertising of alcohol is now permitted, but billboards:3
The top 10 products sold in ABC stores have been:7
At the time, the remaining 100% “dry” counties were Appomattox
New Law Extends Alcohol Sales In West Virginia
May 14, 2021 / 05:50 PM EDT
May 14, 2021 / 05:50 PM EDT
BECKLEY, WV A law passed by the West Virginia Legislature extends alcohol sales and purchasing hours. The new law took effect Monday, May 10, 2021.
People in the state can buy alcohol from 6 a.m. until 2 a.m. the next day. This change is for every day during the week, including Sundays for restaurants and clubs.
Spokesman with WVABCA, Gig Robinson, said the new law also gives restaurants the option to apply for a permit to allow alcohol with to-go and delivery orders.
That would be if a patron online or by phone or by some other means orders alcohol in certain types of containers, there are some guidelines there with food, Robinson said.
Robinson said with the to-go orders, you cannot already be seated at a restaurant and decide you want to take your drink to-go when you are done eating. For more information on the new law, visit the WVABCA website.
Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
Read Also: Old Fashioned Vs Whiskey Sour
Which Violations Constitute An Alcohol
In Virginia, the following alcohol violations carry Class 1 misdemeanor charges for persons under the age of 21:
- Purchasing, possessing or attempt to purchase or possess any alcoholic beverage.
- Operating a motor vehicle after illegally using alcohol or drugs. There is no requirement that the driver must be impaired to be charged. If the young person is driving, they also automatically consent to testing. Refusal means the driver may additional penalties and lose privileges for up to one year. Any amount detected constitutes a violation of the law.
- Using, possessing, manufacturing or selling any altered or false drivers license, military or university identification. Loaning identification to others is also illegal and carries the same Class 1 penalties.
Alcoholic Beverages And The Virginia Beach Alcohol Policy
Virginia Beach has a strict alcohol policy. Virginias Alcoholic Beverage Commission operates liquor stores in Virginia Beach , where a variety of liquors and Virginia wines are sold. Grocery and convenience stores carry beer and wine. One must be 21 years of age to buy wine, beer and liquor.
- Licensed premises can serve until 2 a.m..
- Off-premises establishments, like convenience stores, can sell until midnight.
If you want to purchase liquor in the state of Virginia, then you need to visit an ABC Store .
If you want to purchase beer or wine in the state of Virginia, then you need to visit grocery store, convenience store or a designated beer and wine store .
Carrying an unsealed or open container of alcohol in public or in an auto is illegal. Virginia Beach is very strict regarding the open container laws. Police will patrol the streets and beaches searching for alcoholic beverages.
According to a database of state Supreme Court records, in 2013, over 228 people were charged with having glass or alcohol on the beach. They all faced fines. Virginia Beach tries to keep the beach and its impression clean for families. Yet even in a family-friendly area with a ban on cursing , ice-cold beer cans hidden in cozies or coolers are an open secret. You can also get ticketed for bravely going nude. A small handful of people are ticketed each year for being nude on the beach, according to the Supreme Court database.
Recommended Reading: I Hop Ethey Serve Beer In Hell
Can You Go Into An Abc Store Under 21 In Virginia
Individuals under the age of 21 are not permitted to purchase. Virginia ABCs policy is We ID under 30, which means that a valid ID will be needed as evidence of age, with a second ID being sought if necessary . Primary identity documents that are acceptable must have a photograph, signature, height, and date of birth.
Sunday Morning Liquor Sales
On Sundays in many states, liquor stores are closed for business. This is because of so-called blue laws that date back to the days when religious leaders wanted to discourage people from drinking. Some people believe that these laws are outdated and that people should be able to buy liquor on Sundays if they want to. Others think that the current laws help to prevent excessive drinking.
At what time can a restaurant sell liquor by the drink on Sunday and the time for a retail store to sell off-premises liquor on Sunday? Can a retail liquor store sell beer? In 2014, it was decided that retail package stores could sell beer. This legislation, Public Chapter 783, Acts of 2018, allows package stores to sell alcohol and beer beginning at 10:00 a.m. on Sundays. This Code contains a provision in Tennessee. Section 57-3-406 reads: It is prohibited by section 57-3-406 for retail stores to sell, give away, or otherwise dispense alcoholic beverages, except between the hours of 8 a.m. and 12 a.m. Monday through Saturday, 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday and Monday evenings. On Sundays, restaurants with licenses to sell alcohol on premise for consumption or for liquor by the drink may begin selling alcohol in those establishments at 12:00 p.m. If the city decides not to allow beer to be sold in restaurants starting at 10:00 a.m. on Sundays, they may sell beer at 10:00 a.m. on Saturdays.
Don’t Miss: What To Mix With Scotch
What The Earliest I Can Buy Beer In Virginia
From Monday through Sunday, we start at 6:00 a.m. 2 a.m. to 2 p.m. A 6:00 a.m. start time is usually observed in mixed beverage locations. Other localities may extend the period until midnight. For off-premises/retail stores, the hours are 6 a.m. Monday through Sunday. From midnight to 12 a.m.
Can You Buy Beer On Sunday In Virginia
Some states dont allow the sale of beer or other types of alcohol on Sundays. It wasnt until July 2012 that Sunday sales were made legal in Virginia.
In Virginia, you can buy beer on Sunday from on-premise establishments from 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. in mixed beverage localities, or from 6:00 a.m. until midnight in other localities. Off-premise locations may sell beer on Sunday from 6 a.m. to midnight.
Monday through Saturday, beer can be purchased from 6 a.m. to midnight.
Don’t Miss: Scotch Porter Beard Balm Review
Can I Buy Beer On Sunday In Virginia
Beginning on July 1, a new Virginia legislation will permit the sale of alcoholic beverages on Sundays in most businesses supervised by the states Alcoholic Beverage Control Agency. The regulation applies to more than 200 ABC stores that are now prohibited from opening because they are located in small areas under current legislation.
Can You Buy Beer In Virginia On Sunday
Virginia has some of the least restrictive laws for the sale of alcohol on Sundays. All retailers, with the proper license, are allowed to sell beer between the hours of 6am-2am on Sunday. Bars and restaurants are allowed to stay open even later and can continue serving you until 2am.
This is a big contrast to many other states where the sale of alcohol is more severely limited on Sundays. You dont have to worry about hurrying down to the grocery store or gas station before the early afternoon on Sunday to get your beer and theres still no limit on how much you can purchase.
Don’t Miss: Senor Tequila Menu Little Rock
When Did Virginia Start Selling Alcohol On Sundays
The Virginia General Assembly passed a law in 2016 that allowed localities to decide whether to allow stores to sell alcohol on Sundays. This law went into effect on July 1, 2016. Prior to this law, stores were not allowed to sell alcohol on Sundays.
Virginia is one of 17 states that regulate the sale and distribution of alcohol. After Prohibition, Virginia allowed retailers to sell beer and wine, but they retained control over hard liquor. Alcohol education and prevention is funded by the sale of alcoholic beverages, as is employee training. Grants are also available for programs that improve the quality of life in local communities. Beginning January 1, 2022, ABC stores will only sell spirits with low alcohol content. On-site establishments, such as bars and restaurants, are now open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Nonprofit organizations can now sell low-alcohol beverages in addition to online donations for virtual campaigns.
Businesses that do not have a delivery permit may sell beer and wine to consumers under a new law. The sale of spirits is permitted in Virginia because it is a control state, which means it is run by the state. Alcohol is not permitted at all at gas stations, but they are permitted to sell beer and wine. To help stimulate sales during the swine flu pandemic, the state of Virginia has allowed to-go cocktails to be sold at licensed and approved establishments.